Racial Discrimination in France

The only time that I have been asked when will you be going back to your country, was when i worked as a community nurse in my area, and i was nursing a elderly lady who lived on a farm with her children.To begin with they did not appreciate the fact that I was not french and it took me a few months for them to accept me, during this time one of the daughters' asked me a funny question, saying Carol, when you die surely you will go back to England to be buried as you are not french so your place isn't here.

I accepted the comment as her way of thinking, but i realised that in the future i should be respectful of the French who are in THEIR country, after all I am an immigrant.

I am apparently a bit of a mongrel myself!!! Dad told me his grandfather was a polish jew who married an irish catholic girl, but then on the other side of his family there are some french roots, mum's family were dorset farmers but in the 30's her dad came to portsmouth to work in the dock yard and her mum was gosport throgh and through, but who know what was behind there, ports are such a breeding ground for mixing genes!!!Of course I now live in France and the oh is French, thank heaven we are too old to reproduce....... as he has spanish and polish roots!!!!! Move over Heinz; My Dad always said one day eveyoone would be coffee coloured, cant wait personally as I jst go bright red in the sun. To be a mixture of cultures a crossing point of traditions is wonderful, so rich, Turkey has been a country like that, invaded by so many cultures, but how rich is their diverse culture now!!!!

You're so right Annie.

Our 2 daughters revel in their Anglo, Mauritian, Indian roots, and feel very special rather than being any lesser people.