Radiateurs à inertie

Does anyone have experience of these?
I have read a lot of write-ups, but have not seen any reference to charging during heures creuse to store heat for release during the day.
So are they similar to UK night storage heaters, or something different?
Could they be expected to deliver heat 12 hours after charging finishes?

No Mike, just a fluid filled radiator. Everything else spoken is marketing bs.
The laws of physics and thermal dynamics apply.

To be fair it’s pretty fecking difficult to avoid these. Outside a sci-fi movie that is.

Any views on infra-red radiators?

Supposed to have much lower running costs.

Or marketing departments :grinning:

There was a lady on SFN who had a number of these fitted. Maybe still around and could answer?

I’m by no means an expert, but the way I see it is that if you put one kw of electricity into an heater/radiator/convector etc, then you get (hopefully very nearly) one kw of heat back out. The type of heater just defines how quickly or slowly that heat is released. As we all know, electric isn’t cheap, electric heating therefore isn’t cheap to run .

Slight change in topic - whatever happened to the radiators which had special bricks inside to retain the heat??

Friends have a woodburner which is built of rocks/stone which retains the heat for several days after the fire goes out.

Something similar, heated on cheap-rate electric - why not ??

1 Like

18 years ago we had electric storage heaters fitted in our then holiday home (a big box full of bricks) thinking that as a dry system it was preferred over a wet system as we were not always there and no worries of leaks. The village sparky installed them and at the time he had not seen them before even though he had plied his trade for many years, must be an english thing he told us!