Reclaiming tax as a seasonnaire

Hello, apologies if this is covered elsewhere but I was unable to find it.
Over the recent winter season 2018-19 I worked as a seasonnaire for a French registered company. I earned just under €5000 and paid approx. €800 in tax and social contributions. Does anyone know if or how I can reclaim some or all of this? I am a UK not a French resident and I complete a UK self assessment tax return.
Thanks in advance.

Hello Vivien

Presumably you were in France on a temporary basis and live full-time in the UK? If you were working for a French company in France then the deductions from your wages would only have been social contributions as tax would not have been deducted. Tax is dealt with separately. The system is different to that in the UK.

I’m surprised that you paid so little in social contributions as the rate is usually about 22% of everything you earn.

Anyway, I doubt that there is any possibilty of reclaiming these contributions. I expect others will be able to confirm this or otherwise.

Don’t forget to declare the income on your UK self assessment tax return.

Hello Vivien and welcome to the forum.

I’m sure I recall a similar question months and months ago… but I cannot find it now.

Never mind …

Do you have the paperwork (payslips etc) which relate to the money you received and also to your employment??

I’m sure someone will chime in , but it would be useful to know what your papertrail situation actually is.:thinking:

(I found the thread but it related to a student… sorry.)

How many months were you employed in France ???

As Mandy says. PAYE didn’t operate in France prior to 2109 so you won’t have had any income tax deducted at source.The system was that you declared your income at the end of the year and were sent a bill. But on 5k there would have been no income tax to pay in any case.