Registering for UK VAT to Sell into UK

I’ve searched the forum and can’t find much about this which makes me think either
1 - I’m rubbish at searching- very likely
2 - Everyone who sells into UK is super efficient and have already registered
3 - People don’t know they need to register
4 - I’ve misunderstood everything - very likely
5 - No one is bothering
6 - April fools has come early and Brexit was all just a joke
?

I’m not that sure that many, if any, people on the forum sell into the UK (I could be wrong of course)

I wish, oh how I wish, that your number 6 was true… :roll_eyes:

My understanding is certainly that you have to register for UK VAT to sell into the UK, which is why so many companies aren’t bothering, but never having had to do it myself, I have no experience. I’m sure someone will come along soo though!

1 Like

Article on today’s BBC website - might be worth doing some digging into the background - contact those who were interviewed.

1 Like

Thanks Sue, that’s what prompted me. Other articles just said that people in UK would be charged VAT -I thought - when it arrived in UK.

If I understand the article, if the value of the item is low, then the seller has to pay it. If it’s higher, the buyer pays - strange I know. These are the two sentences …

Under the new rules, European companies must directly pay UK sales tax, or VAT, on sales under £135 (€155; $190), so they now have to register and file quarterly declarations with the UK authorities

On orders above £135, it’s much more expensive for all UK clients because they have to pay customs charges and some fees: for example, DHL is charging a fixed fee of €12 per parcel.

1 Like

Golly… that’s bizarre, Sue :thinking:

1 Like

I think you’re right but I was wondering if any other small (autoentrepreneurs) had done this ?

Basically HMRC wants to close the low value item loophole (as does the EU) but does not want to be processing millions of small VAT invoices.