Renewing French driving licence

I swapped my UK licence for a French one 5 years ago because I am a French resident and 70 years old.
I only wanted category B (for a car) and not all the others on my UK one. I stated this on the form but they insisted I have a medical and included all the categories, and with a 5 year duration. OK I thought. But now, five years on I want to renew and it’s looking like the same again. The procedure is now online. I cannot see a way of getting the unwanted categories deleted… Any ideas anyone please.

The old paper licences issued before 2013 are valid until January 2033. The new plastic card licence is valid for 15 years for categories A and B. The extra categories require a medical and are valid for only 5 years. My paper licence dates from 2011. The extra categories were included then because the UK licence had them and we thought they could be useful. They are listed on the licence but are now lapsed which is no problem. So you have 10 years before you need a new licence as long as you don’t want to renew those categories.

When I changed my licence nearly 5 years ago I got a plastic one and it stated the duration was 5 years when it started 5 years ago. I know that category B is for 15 years without medical, and with additional categories it’s 5 years and needs a medical. I have to renew it in the next 3 months. My question is how to get the extra unwanted categories taken off. The ANTS online form does not offer this option, and there doesn’t seam to be anyone there to do anything about it.

I’m sure I read somewhere… that folk having a problem with computer systems… could get help at the Prefecture… :thinking: