Riding in les landes - help needed

Dear horse lovers,

I’m usually very quiet in this forum, just happy to read about all your various stories and experiences…

Today I’m calling out for help. I’ve been training a young “trotter” Sultan for 6 months now. He’s not mine, I’m just spending my free time with him, as his owner doesn’t have the time to do it. As you know, trotters need some serious “re-education” after they’ve been banned from the races… They’re often scared, hysterical, but with a real desire to learn! Now, Sultan is ready to try his first walks outside his “field - garden - working area” but I don’t want to ride him alone in the “open air” as his reactions can be unexpected sometimes… he will feel more confident with another horse (and me too…). Sultan lives in Taller, a small village near Castets, in Les Landes (dpt 40).

If one of you guys happen to live in the area, and if you’re willing to keep us company for a few rides on sundays, please, please, please, contact me asap!!!

Thank you, on behalf of Sultan!

Cheers,

Gaby,

You just need a van… The forest you see in the pictures is just behind Sultan’s home, so, very convenient!!! There’s lots of different sandy paths through the forest, so lots of different rides each times!
A friend went riding with me the other day with her own horse, Sultan was very happy to walk with another horse!!! lots of trotting - good for the heart and muscles!! - It was awesome! Because les landes are so wide, I do feel a bit lonely riding sometimes!!! I usually take my dog and a friend (on a bike) or just walking, and we “share” Sultan if the walk is too long! But there’s nothing like riding with several horses together!!!

Take care!!!

Gorgeous! Really jealous of your riding - I love the forest up there.

Sultan and Vickie (the dog) in the forest…