Sewing machine advice required

I'd like to get my daughter a sewing machine and as a complete novice, thought I would ask you lovely people for your advice...

Would something like this be any good?

Equally if anyone has one for sale and is not a million miles away, I would be interested.

Thanks!

HI I HAVE A SEWING MACHINE I CD SELL FOR A V REASONABLE, LIKE AROUND 60E.IT IS IN LIKE NEW CONDITION. I AM NOT A VERY GOOD SEAMSTRESS AND AM NOW DISABLED SO DON'T SO NEVER SEW. IT IS A SEARS KENMORE, V RELIABLE.

IT IS SIMPLE, BASIC, AND SOLID, WITHOUT BELLS AND WHISTLES, AS THE OTHERS RECOMMEND. HOWEVER, YOU WD NEED TO USE IT WITH A CURRENT TRANSFORMER (EASY FOR THINGS THAT DON'T HEAT UP, SUCH AS MY TOP OF THE LINE PROF. KITCHENAID MIXER, YOU WD ALSO HAVE TO PICK IT UP FROM ME NOT FAR FROM PARIS AREA/ST GERMAIN EN LAYE

IF ANYONE ELSE IS INTERESTED LET ME KNOW. LISA

Hi Catherine,

I wonder if you've already made your purchase. I say (as a professional seamstress) that if the guarnatee and repair shop are easy to access, Elna is a good brand, but I'd also google that particular model with the word "consumer forum" before or after.

I believe strongly in older, metal, simple machines. There is less to break, less that is breakable and they are less finicky.

Sew On!

I would definitely go for a known make and a good refurb rather than a new 'fun' lightweight one. Mine is a Singer and I love it to bits - my first anniversary present from OH and on which I have spent many happy hours. On a related note, always buy the best quality cotton you can get. Cheap stuff knots and breaks. Go for a good mercerised thread. Sewing is such fun and so rewarding. Always wished I had had a daughter so we could have sewn together...

Frankly I would always go with a good older machine than a new light one so I personaly wouldn't pick that branded machine , your £99 would be better spent on a 2nd hand serviced machine from a good sewing machine shop. Just my opnion.