Software quality

I’m getting fed up with software updates.

My iPad can easily rack up thirty or so App updates in a few days. This IMO is sloppy stuff. I think all developers should be restricted to a limited number of updates a year, unless a security vulnerability is being addressed. If they are already, then the limit should be reduced. Being able to bang out an update anytime you want encourages producing bad code and letting the end user do your testing for you.

However, I can’t see Apple implementing or reducing such a restriction anytime soon because they have become one of the worst offenders. Last week we had to upgrade our two MacBooks and our iMac to macOS 11.5. That’s five updates in eight months. iPadOS is worse. As I type our iPads are updating themselves to 14.7, that’s seven updates since last September.

Back in the day when I was a Systems Programmer I never applied service packs to our mainframes, only individual patches to solve individual problems. I thought these big updates only solved one problem to cause another. As many of my systems programming colleagues found out :face_with_hand_over_mouth:

I can’t help thinking that if Steve Jobs was still with us he’s be banging his developers heads together and railing about sloppy code and the need to streamline fix distribution. Tesla doesn’t seem to have the same code issues, otherwise there’d be a lot of dead ex owners by now.

3 Likes

Android is just as bad, leave any of my phone’s more than a couple of days and it says there are 20 updates available, gtf.

1 Like

One of the problems I experienced with programmers I employed when tackling them over “issues” was overcoming the “well, it works on my machine” syndrome :roll_eyes: