Swimming Pool Construction Costs

We have had an eye watering, hair raising, toe curling quote for a 10x5 pool with liner. Can anyone advise what an average cost should be please? It's a flat plot with clay soil. Thanks.

2nd time lucky to reply Irene, no idea where the previous attempt went?

You paint a very different picture to that of my customers who purchased a couple of electric pool covers for as they put it 50% of the price here, but I shall stick to subject I actually know about rather that SA which I have no personal knowledge of.

I have gone through several devis and I have a French friend who has translated them for me as she doesn't mind helping me with that as it's often quite tricky and boy it takes some time we agree on that.

Pop over to our SFN pool group and I will be posting some more information on there after the next pool show in a couple of weeks on new products and things to look out for and also avoid.

http://www.survivefrance.com/group/swimming-pools

I read your profile Irene, I see you were in South Africa for a while? That may have spoiled you as pools and equipment can be considerably cheaper there from information gained from a customer in the UK.

I am afraid I would have to disagree with Tony on one point which is the use of just one company. In theory that makes it easier but not better. The reason is in France and many other places pool builders haven't embraced new ideas and thinking, yes they have varied construction techniques, mainly to make them faster therefore cheaper or more profitable for themselves but nothing in the water side has changed since the 1950's.

The thermapool approach is good, I like their insulation, I use it myself but with reinforced concrete not like their kit type construction designed again to be built very fast which is one of their advertised USP's. But that's where they stop, the water technology is just the same power consuming setup from last century.