Taking 100% of UK pension - has anyone done it?

I’m considering taking 100% of my SIPP as a lump sum rather than leaving any money in the UK. I am a French tax resident and not considering moving back to the UK.

Blevins Franks tell me I should be able to take the lump sum without paying the punitive UK rates of tax, and I will be taxed at 7.5% plus social charges here in France. However, given that I stand to lose quite a lot of money if I get this wrong, I’d be interested to know if anyone has taken this step and what kinds of difficulties, if any, they encountered.

I’m not interested in QROPs. As a former stockbroker and professional investor, I want control of my own money and no strings attached.

1 Like

Have you contacted @Brian_Furzer … our Main Man when it comes to Pensions?

1 Like

Yes, my wife cashed in 2 private uk pensions in 2016 and had £20k reduction at source after taking into account her tax allowances, this was claimed and paid back by the revenue after 3 months.
The pension income was then declared in France in 2017 and she paid about 9k euro to the imports on the total amount.
So all done aboveboard and a very big saving was made.

1 Like

Thanks Michael, that’s exactly the kind of information I was looking for!

Stella, I’ll drop Brian a line. It’s a big step to take so the more advice I can get the better.

I looked into QROPS in the past (and nearly did it) but then realised that there weren’t really the same benefits to it once the pension freedoms came in.

Like you, I’m thinking that when I reach 55 it will be better to just take the whole lot out (I have 4 separate funds so I think I may have to consolidate it somehow first) and declare it in France, though I don’t think I actually have to transfer it here?

I understand it’ll mean 7.5% tax and 7.4% social charges and I’ll not pay tax in the UK (or will, but will get it refunded). If I can do this I’m not sure there is any advantage to QROPS (with the 30% lump sum restriction) anymore?