Tax Declarations

Hi I am a Newbie to this Forum and to France.
Maybe a bit naive but can anyone tell me how (in simple terms) how the system works.
Not the whole process!
Just how from me making my online declaration and tax people deciding on my tax due.

How do or can they check what I declare is actually exactly correct?

Do they randomly call some people in and go over their declarations/incomes with microscopes?

Has anyone on the Forum had this experience or been under the magnifying glass?

I just wonder now we have Brexit if the connections to the UK are as easily maintained??

Have no fear, financial info is shared between huge numbers of countries now. Certainly amongst the entire Western world. Including traditional confidentiality stalwarts like Switzerland and many well-known (former) tax havens, and all very accessible if anyone amongst the data-sharing nations wants to take a look.

Theoretically any personal info you might have a right to keep confidential, such as personal or medical or your comms (internet and phone calls) can also be bought privately in most places by anyone with enough money.

Depending on the regime, also officially for example the “Snooper’s Charter” legislation was officially introduced in France, initially “temporarily”. So your comms and internet activity is readily accessible by officialdom in France. This was refused by Parliament in the UK. But frankly such legislation is only about widening the scope of legitimisation of government and other activities that go on anyway.

The exceptions would be

(1) keeping it under the mattress - in which case you’d hit problems as and when you liquidate or seek to transfer an asset or bring cash into the system. Due to regimes’ rights for you to prove stuff like ownership and where did the money come from

And the other exception would be

(2) if you are very very rich or you have earned from ‘crime’. In which case learn how it’s done in these 2 starter primers from Oliver Bullough.