Tax for Uk self employed in France

Hi all,

We are currently researching moving to France next year. As we both were born in NI we qualify for Irish passports so continuing EU citizenship after Brexit should not be an issue.
I work self employed in UK and would continue to do so after the move, having spoken to HMRC and French authorities it seems fairly clear that as I earn in the UK I pay UK taxes and then submit a French tax return with UK income on it which would then receive a credit under the double taxation agreement.
Whats less clear is how I would pay social charges. My partner soon to be wife would register as AE as she would be doing Chambre d’hote in the house, I understand this would entitle her to access to healthcare. Ive also read conflicting reports that as her spouse my healthcare ( basic ) would be covered too, and others that say with Puma after 3 months resident I would qualify in my own right anyway?

As a non UK resident I would not have to pay NI so there would be no huge impact to finances if I had to pay social charges but the issue is I would have no registered business in France. Any help appreciated.

As you will be travelling back to the UK to work won’t you be paying NI and therefore be eligible for a workers’ S1?

No, this is out of date info. Dependent spouses did used to be covered as “ayant droits” under the old CSU system but the ayant droit arrangement for adults was phased out when the new PUMA system was introduced in Jan 2016. Now every adult is covered in their own right. (In any case if you are working then you are not a dependent.)

No. Inactifs can apply for PUMA after 3 months residence, but if you are working in the UK then you are not an inactif.

As David says, you need to get an S1 from the UK and this will be your route to healthcare in France.

1 Like

Thanks Anna,