Teaching English in France

Hello All,

I've read some useful information on this site already and I'm rather hoping that the knowledgeable folk here can offer some comment on my thoughts. I was thinking of teaching English here in France but, tbh, I think it's probably not viable in my part of rural France.

First things first; I have a degree in Linguistics (language is something I'm interested in) and have taught a few English classes already, when I lived in Germany. I also started a PGCE before I left the UK and did several weeks of teaching experience before dropping out and coming to France. So, I'm not coming to this totally blind. I've already identified the CELTA course I want to do in the UK (full time).

Secondly, I'm on job mailing lists here in France (one being the pôle emploi). I see the English language jobs come through and have formed an opinion on what's going and where.

To cut to the chase; I really don't think there's enough work locally, or within reasonable travelling distance. That is, if I'm to rely on work being provided to me. That that there is quite poorly paid and irregular. I might get a couple of hours a week for maybe €12 an hour, €15 tops. Add in travel time, lesson prep etc and I reckon I can call that €12 a day! Then social contributions come off of that, it leaves me less then €10 a day. I 'bag of a fag packet' calculate that it'll take me a couple of years just to earn back my course fees and accommodation etc!

I think that to earn anything remotely viable, I have to be proactive; leaflets, flyers, advertise generally, etc. The thing is, I don't think the market is there. As I said, I live rurally and I really don't think there's sufficient interest in learning English around here, but I am going to talk to a local language school to try and get their opinion.

Before I can the idea finally, I wanted the opinion of others as I tend to be overly pessimistic generally.

Thanks in advance,

Andrew