The Deserted Village?

Good morning everyone. As I’m new to this parish, a quick introduction of myself that might sound familiar: I’m looking to buy a property that will, initially, be a holiday home and then something more permanent later (leaving the kids to ‘adult’ in the family home in Ireland in the midst of a housing crisis). With my limited budget, I’m fascinated by the low cost of properties in villages that seem…deserted? Lots of houses but no shops, no signs of life… 30 mins drive to the nearest supermarket.
I was wondering if anyone on this forum has chosen to live in a village like this? I enjoy my own company…but does it get depressing to live in a place that once had life but now doesn’t? Or do you love being on mains drains and having the village more or less to yourself!
Search area is currently Pays de la Loire/Normandy/Brittany.