To plug or not to plug?

Hello! I’m a newbie. We’re moving to the Perigord Vert, Dordogne. We have about 100 household appliances, electronic devices and power tools, all with English plugs. Some, such as chargers, will need adaptors but most will need changing. Then I thought, maybe it’s better to use adaptors in all the sockets. At about a £1 each on Amazon it seems a quick and easy solution. For my 13amp multi-sockets I could just change the plug to EU.

When we moved to Italy I changed all the plugs to the Italian three-pin and ended up with a bucket load of 13amp plugs, and a worn-out screwdriver! Would anyone moving back to the UK be interested in a bucket load of 13amp plugs, or should I scrap them? Decisions!

I would change all of the plugs. In the meantime you could have a few uk trailing sockets with a French plug on the end as a temporary solution.

Why do you say that?

I am dubious about converters, there have been stories about them melting (true or not?).

I also thing the converters look ugly!

Welcome to France!

Adapters are OK, up to a point, for low power items and those, like chargers, where the electronics and plug are all one integrated unit.

If you are bringing any larger or high powered appliances - dishwashers, washing machines, kettles, toasters etc these really should be switched over to French plugs, either by replacing the plug or, preferably for this type of appliance, the whole power cord - but you need to be confidant and competent to do the latter if it is a captive cord (or get an electrician). As Mat says the adapters are a fire risk for high power stuff.

After that - anything with a plug in cord - i.e IEC(kettle), clover-leaf or two-pin “Phillips” style can just have the cord changed.