Try your hand at navigating the Suez canal

Left hand down a bit, as Sub Lieutenant Phillips used to say.

2 Likes

Compulsive
crashed 20 times :kissing: :astonished::exploding_head:

1 Like

Managed it at 100% power on 3rd try. A pity the simulation wimps out at 4% of the journey.

1 Like

When I was an undergraduate many years ago, I thought I’d swim across it, swimming from one continent to another would be pretty cool I thought, think of Byron swimming the Hellespont, anyway no sooner had I found a suitable place to get in than a jeepful of soldiers turned up and asked me what I was doing, listened very politely to my explanations, then informed me that if I went over there they would have to shoot me.
So it is still on my bucket list.

7 Likes

Nice one that, mine’s to cycle round the med once I retire but I think I’d have the same problems in the same part of the med as you!

1 Like

Did it no problem at full speed twice to 4% without crashing - I think I have found a new career, and can have that backlog of tankers cleared in no time!

I haven’t tried that test, too much to do here, but I don’t need to because I have already done it, for real.

Back in 1964, as a deckhand on an oil tanker I was ‘lucky’ enough to be on the wheel as we went through. The Captain was on the bridge with me but the man who was in charge was the Egyptian Pilot.

He was totally relaxed and gave so few instructions that, out of my sight as he was, I thought he had gone to sleep. :astonished:

But for me it was the most stressful thing I had done to that date. As you can imagine, my location on the bridge set several hundred metres from the bow and comparatively low down, set my line of sight hundreds of metres in front of it.

Constantly local Arabs would set off to row little boats from one side to the other long after I thought it was safe to do so, and would then disappear from my view under the bow for what seemed like an eternity, only to eventually re-appear on the other side .