US sole proprietor, long-stay visa – fuzzy on ‘remote’ employment/tax implications

Hello!

I’ll preface by mentioning that I have sought (and continue to) guidance from CPAs and tax attorneys on the below but it’s been an immense challenge connecting with professionals well-versed on both international tax compliance and employment laws. So, I supplement with the wisdom of the crowd where I can and I’m always appreciative of good references. The situation:

• My wife and I will be taking off for France Aug ’19, staying roughly one year. She, on a long-stay student visa, and a long-stay tourist visa for me. I’m joining her while she completes a program in Strasbourg.

• Here in the US, I’m an independent consultant (11+ years) filing taxes as sole-proprietor/Sched C. 99% of my engagements are with international clients so fair to say I am “remote.”

• For 2017, we will be filing taxes in both Oregon and California (where we are maintaining legal residency while on travel).

As many already know, a condition of long-stay visas is a promise to not seek employment while in France. Per application: “that he/she does not intend to have in France a paid professional activity.” We have failed to get clarity on this pre-Visa appt with VFS (San Francisco) and I simply opted to submit a letter promising the above.

What I can’t determine with any degree of certainty is how that impacts:

a) my existing work and future remote engagements - is it business as usual? [my biggest concern]

b) if it precludes me from engaging with any entity based in France even as a remote worker/independent consultant once physically there.

c ) if accepting a full-time (W2) role with a US-based company adds any complications.

And finally, d) are French taxes inevitable, in addition to US Federal and State.

I know that’s quite a bit, I’m mighty appreciative for any input!

I think you would be well advised to check these points with the French Embassy in Washington.