VAT liability

Hi,

I have recently changed from being an Autoentrepeneur having exceeded the threshold and am informed by new accountant that I have to pay VAT on my 2016 earningss. However, I am a freelance translator and cannot charge VAT because I work through agencies, so they post a job, say translate 1000 words for 100 euros and the only choice I have is whether to accept the job or not, I can’t charge the agency VAT.
I thought you only paid VAT if you’d charged it to your clients…am I sadly deluded?

All advice gratefully received.

Best,

Wendy

I don’t think that computes.A lot of freelance translators charge VAT, in fact it’s only micro entrepreneurs who are allowed not to. In my experience, this is one of the questions that agencies usually ask about when you first start working with them. Occasionally they don’t ask and send me their first bon de commande including VAT, and I have to send it back and ask them to knock the VAT off, so the fact that by default they put it on, suggests that it’s more common for translators to charge it than not to. It’s no skin off the agency’s nose, they will simpy reclaim it.

EDIT: Here’s a recent thread on Proz about this very question, I thought I remembered one Quitter le statut d'autoentrepreneur en cas de dépassement de seuil. Quel statut adopter ? (French)

• as someone points out, it would only be if you worked for a private client that it would make any difference to the cost. As long as you work for a TVA-registered business, be it an end client or an agency, they can reclaim the TVA. And every agency is going to be TVA registered.

Thanks Anna, I’m probably being thick and I know that the agency will have charged the client VAT, but how am I liable for paying it? Surely it’s only the end client that pays it. I don’t see how I fit into the loop. From reading the stuff on Proz, I’d need to ask the agency how much of the fee that I get paid is VAT, is that right?