Video & subtitle editing software

Hi all,
I’ve been tasked to create some tutorial videos of some of my workflow.
So I need to record the computer screen many times then splice / compile the recordings, edit them and then I’d like to add subtitles or in some cases narrate over the videos.
I’ve never done this before so I’m looking for some simple software either free or paying for it.
I’m using Windows 10.

I have used OBS (https://obsproject.com/) - simply to record a screen plus the audio of, eg, a tv programme - but I know gamers use it for a similar purpose to what you describe.

I find it easy to use, once I’ve set it up, and because it’s open source there’s quite a community of people who can help.

1 Like

Well, obviously you need Premiere Pro, or Sony Vegas

Just kidding :slight_smile:

Have a look at these

No personal recommendation I’m afraid - I use Kdenlive on Linux.

1 Like

I use Movavi Video Editor 12, which is not the latest version I think, but only for cutting and splicing different videos though I am sure it does so much more. I paid a one off fee for it, probably about €30 I expect.

1 Like

I’ve been using Shotcut recently. It’s the first time I’ve used video editing software… it’s not exactly intuitive but there’s loads of tutorials online and plenty of videos on YouTube explaining how to use it, such as this one…

1 Like

Thanks, I’ve downloaded it and currently trying to tame it, so far starting to look good for recording found it can even record multi-screens :sunglasses: :+1:

1 Like

Thanks, looks like what I’m looking for. I’ll give it a go. :sunglasses: :+1:

1 Like

If you want something professional without paying for an Adobe Premiere subscription, check out DaVinci Resolve from BlackMagic Design - it has a free version which covers the essentials and is more sophisticated than the average “home user” video app.

It may be more powerful than you need, but worth a look before you buy something!

2 Likes

Thanks, Chris,