What is the French Economic Problem?

http://www.bbc.com/news/business-36152571

BBC article on French Economy, Unemployment and government efforts to change...

Very accurate assessment. As an employer, I can confirm that labour laws restrict taking people on, even when you're ready to employ and offer a job, for many it's not wrth working because they "earn" more than the smic they're offered in allocs...!

Odd how the unemployment figures and the state of the economy have improved just a year before the presidential election. But then I'm a professional cynic (aka journalist).

France is in an economic mess, it has been for ages thanks to inappropriate policies by successive governments. Hollande stated recently he wouldn't be seeking re election if the dole queues didn't shorten. He also stated in january, and this is after a few years of doing his utmost to ignore trends elsewhere and by taking similar measures, to make unemployment his priority. Coincidence or what ??

The Finance Minister and some say, President Elect has been stirring things lately so most of us are waiting for a leadership battle to give the PS at least a fighting chance in the coming election. PM Valls has remained silent, respecting his position but i don't know how long he will remain in the shadows..

Is Macron just playing or is he really going to have a go? He seems to be the only one who talks economic sense!

Perhaps if Christine Lagarde falls on her sword over the various issue besetting her at the moment, Emmanuel Macron will seek the challenge of an international stage...

Both are highly competent.

Macron is serious, his profile has been boosted by the PR bods for a reason.