Bees Nest Legal Situation

Hello there. I am new to Survive France and cannot work out how to post a query so hope this is the correct forum.

I have a holiday home nr Sancerre and sadly have not been able to visit since August last year due to the pandemic. A neighbour who lives behind my barn conversion sent me an email last week and complained that weeds were growing from my garden through to hers. I was about to reply a couple of days later informing her that we hoped to visit before the end of July. I then received a phone call from another neighbour telling me that the complaining neighbour had got a gardener to go to my property and strim the weeds. I then got a further email from the complaining neighbour saying that a bees nest had been discovered in the eves of my property and that she had been stung - she did not admit that this had happened as the strumming had caused the bees to become aggravated. She told me that she had notified the Marie and that I had to deal with the bees nest as I have a legal responsibility to do so. As I cannot get to my property for a couple of weeks, does anyone know if she is correct in saying that I have a legal responsibility to do this? I believe that it was her fault as she trespassed on to my property and had she not got a gardener to make a lot of noise, the bees would have not been disturbed. I do not and will not destroy a bees nest as I know that they are in decline . Any advise would be much appreciates as this has worried me a great deal being so far away. Thank you and hello to you all./

3 Likes

Hi Denise and welcome to SF.
A quick administrative matter if I may. Can you please change your registration to include your first name then last name in the Name field as per SF T&Cs. Thank you.
@cat

Hi Graham. I have no idea where and how to do this so sorry. Can you advise as I cannot navigate the site very well. Normally very IT proficient but am unable to find where to do this ?

No problem Denise.