Branson bashing. Is this a new sport?

Listened to Jeremy Vine today & one of the topics was that Virgin Atlantic had asked for a government loan & that Sir Richard Branson had put up Necker Island as collateral.
I was disappointed at the amount of comments, including from a financial expert, that considered it “disgusting” that such a rich man should ask for money.
Let me make it clear that I am not a financial expert so please hold on to your sarcastic comments!

I have only glanced at Sir B’s finances as they appear in searches but I believe that he is self made rather than inheriting an already established business. His hard work has resulted in a group that has in the region of 70.000 employees - not too shabby!

He now lives on his own private island & is very rich. This seems to make him a target of jealousy rather than an example of what hard work can achieve & this concerns me. He is not the sole proprietor & Virgin Group has many other investors.

Sir B certainly has a great personal wealth so does not need to work at all. In fact he could easily afford to retire & not get involved in business at all. Lesser people would be happy to allow the companies to cease.

Easyjet has already secured a £600 million Treasury loan which went virtually unnoticed but when Virgin ask there seems to be a view that Sir B should provide it out of hos own pocket. Why? Because he is not (personally) a UK tax payer! What this has to do with anything is beyond me - I’m not a UK tax payer either as I choose to live elsewhere. This would not stop me having a UK business. Virgin Atlantic is based in the UK (as far as I can tell, even if 49% is owned by Delta & 31% by Air France/KLM). He does not want the cash to make up any shortfall in his personal income.

My personal view is that Sir B puts himself out there because he wants to preserve the jobs of his employees present & future & the welfare of their families.