Claiming UK state pension

I am a french resident and will be able to claim my UK state pension later this year. I currently work several hours a week under the Cheque Emploi system and am aware that I will have to claim my UK state pension through CARSAT? I was wondering how easy or difficult this may be and would welcome any advice from anyone who has been through this procedure. Many thanks, Joyce.

Joyce… I’m confused… are you saying that you have to claim your UK Pension through a French organization ???
surely you claim it from Gov UK…???

Will this change after Brexit?

Joyce is correct. If you have worked in France you claim via the organisation you paid social charges to. Will try to find a link for you.

You will need to scroll down a bit to find the explanation.

1 Like

Well, we learn a little something every day… :thinking:

1 Like

This seems a grey area to me although i am sure someone will provide thier wisdom .
I too reach uk retirement age this year and quality for full pension having 35 years contributions in UK. Laterly i worked in France for 10 years and claimed my french pension her in 2017 as the retirement age is 62 and not 65+ as it is in the U.K. my french pension provider ( formerly RSI) needed confirmation of my uk contributions before they could pay my french pension. I intend to cliam my uk pension directly from the uk very very soon. Is the suggestion that this is not possible?

You will have to claim via RSI (or whatever they are called now). The link I provided is fairly clear. You should phone the International pension section in Newcastle for more information. They will confirm what I’ve said.

Here’s the number for you

Update on UK state pension application.
The information provided in this thread suggesting the method of claiming a UK state pension while living elsewhere (France) is incorrect, in my case at least.