Cost of having a Baby in France (NO Carte Vitale)

Hi All,

Myself and my wife have lived in France for nearly 1.5 years now, and amazingly STILL do not have our Carte Vitales. I work as an Auto-Entrepreneur, and have a SS number (but not CV yet), my wife is ‘inactive’, and does not work at all. She has applied via PUMa for a Carte Vitale, but so far has received NOTHING (amazing eh!).

Anyway, we are considering trying for a baby later this year, and looking at options if she didn’t get her CV in time. I can’t find any sort of information on the ameli website on any sort of costs for having a baby, from the initial visits/scans, right through the birth.

Does anyone know the costs for the various baby scans and visits + birth, assuming we paid for it all upfront, as no SS or CV? Or where I can find the costs?

If my wife did receive a Social Security number, but no CV, can we still claim back what we paid on the healthcare just with that, or can the claims only be made once the CV has been received?

A carte vitale is simply a card that you can use to access healthcare without paying upfront. Just like a bank card is a card that you can use pay for things in shops without using cash. You can have a bank account even if you don’t have a bank card. You can have healthcare entitlement even if you don’t have a carte vitale.
The important thing is whether or not you have opened a bank account, or in this case, opened your rights to health cover.
Haven’t you asked CPAM why your wife’s application is taking so long?

EDIT - If you’re both Brits then regardless of having a baby your wife needs to get her healthcare sorted out by the end of the year otherwise she risks finding herself in trouble with her carte de séjour application. Any period spent living in France with no health cover in place won’t count as a period of legal residence.

Thanks for the reply Anna.