Do you reckon EDF has cut me off or is it a fault!

Hi Everyone.....

Arrived at the maison pour les vacances today at 10pm....to find no electricity....the only other house in the hamlet looked as if its power was on...

Tomorrow is Sunday.....so I doubt I'll get any sense from EDF.... I have workmen arriving on Monday...they will need electricity.... I'm wondering whether to go and buy a small generator or not....

No doubt I'll get things sorted with EDF within a few weeks whether it is a fault or a cut off....but I'm wondering whether it is cut off or technical problem...I suspect a broken line might be cured quicker than a reconnection....

...does anyone have any experience of this ?

Basically all French bills are normally paid by Direct Debit from our French account. However my mum got diagnosed with cancer 4 months ago and we had her funeral this week.... I've been ignoring domestic admin for a few months, including my French bank manager's plea for more cash...so doubtless some factures have gone unpaid...

Last letter I can see from EDF (upon arrival at house) was a final demand for 60 euros...they wouldn't cut me off for that surely ? They have also been pestering me for a meter reading for about 2 years, but I've kind of ignored them....

Years ago when I was a student (and didn't open any post) I arrived one day to find that by court order someone had entered my flat in London and switched me to a "key meter"....

I can't see any signs of entry to the house. Arguably there is a new "plug thing" on the line coming into the outside of the house. The meter is dead, so no indication from it...

Can anyone shed any light on whether this is a "cut off or "fault" situation.?..the answer to that may dictate whether I run out and buy a generator for the artisans for Monday.......

All help much appreciated. Also does anyone have the English speaking number for EDF ?

Very good Richard :)

Well that's what you said last time.

An end to the story: