Freedom of Movement

**Freedom of Movement - FOM - nows here’s the thing about Freedom of Movement … **

I studied Economics in the early '70s and Free Market economics was the hot topic ahead of the discussions on joining the Common Market.

Free Market Economics - much beloved of J.R-M and many others on the Conservative right, of whom I was an acolyte right up to Camerons botched “trip to Brussels” which led to the Brexit Referendum. Then they started to say strange things - like FOM in the interal market was “bad” for the UK economy (which is rubbish coming from a free marketeer).

Well, here’s the thing - you can’t have a Free Market economy and unnaturally restrict access to labour. That’s really obvious which makes it a really stupid thing for a “Free Marketeer” to say - unless they have some other agenda that’s more important than sticking to their free market principles.

When you introduce controls to artificially restrict the access capital has to labour you cease to have a free market in labour and thus you cease to have a free market PERIOD.

Free access to labour is fundamental to the operation of a free market economy.

The “great minds” behind the Single Market knew this. So,when Barnier says “Chequers challenges the integrity of the Single Market” this is what he is actually saying - the Single Market is a free market for those who are “in the Club” and abide by it’s principles. He’s not “being mean” to May, he’s standing up for the 27 Members of the Club who all understand that you only get the full benefits if you are in the Club and follow the free market philosophy.

So, lay off the weak-minded “the EU hates us and wants to make us suffer” and “it’s up to the EU to make counter proposals”. This line of argument makes no sense to anyone who understands the principles that the Single Market operates under. These principles that have already been so carefull explained over many decades.

9 Likes