Her name or our Names

Here we go:- My Partner and I are buying a property as most of you know, hopefully to be completed in the next few weeks. Now the house will be in her name, the reason we did this, is because we are not married and we thought it would be simple this way
So first question is:- is this a mistake and should we ask for my name to be added to the purchase or just leave it hers??

Before you ask why don’t you get married? Is not one we have ruled out its just not happened.

My Local Gov pension is declared Dave, good luck with the move :+1:

1 Like

if you are living (domiciled) in France then all income, revenue, retirement etc has to be declared

1 Like

I would get some professional advice about the house. I’ve no experience of two people paying jointly for one person to own a house but I discovered that the situation where one person was paying for two unmarried people to buy a house jointly highlighted a few problems.
You will continue to be taxed in the U.K. on your military pension but will need to declare it in France. You will not need to complete a tax return until thevApril/May in the year after you become resident.

1 Like

Hi Dave. I know of couples, where one has died and the other has missed out completely… really traumatic stuff at a time when one is already in distress.

However, no situation fits all folk … and there are all sorts of reasons and ways hither and thither of sorting things out…

Talk with a good Notaire, who can organize things at point of purchase, provided he understands what you wish to achieve…

2 Likes

Good point…i could be left high and dry…omg I feel a marriage coming along

3 Likes

:hugs: Oh, you romantic fool…:relaxed::heart_eyes::heart_eyes::heart_eyes:

POSSIBLY time to get a new hat Stella

1 Like

Roughly, which area of France are you buying in…??

Ruffec, Charente, 16700

lovely part… good for you.:relaxed:

we opted for the marriage route.