Immobilier!

I recently toyed with the idea of putting my house on the market and moving to something a bit smaller with a bit more land… Quelle Horreur!!! when I discovered that the french estate agent takes 6% of the sales price. Compared to our trusty , much maligned british breed at 1.5% this seems somewhat over the top nespas! Forgive me for asking and I would generally like to know how come they think they deserve this fee.

From what I see on advertising boards, there has been little effort to make a room photogenic or even remove the kids toys or rubbish bags prior to photo, and if I see another plastic, vacum formed chair in a shot , I think I will have to start a revolt.

As an interior stylist I have long been under the impression that all things french were held in some lofty regard and I have a library full of reference books with titles such as French Style…French country…etc. But it would seem that the french don’t give them a first glance.

When I enquired from my local immobilier as to why the house that interested me wasn’t presented better in their window, I was quickly met with a great deal of shrugging

and general disinterest…What do they do for that meaty 6%?

In the old days when we found french ruins with dead peoples clothes in a corner and remains of the dogs last meal, we didn’t complain, but hey! Those houses were 12 grand…Now they want a princes’s ransom for a hovel with potential…Do they think we are mad? We are raving mad because we happily pay it. Not me. Oh No. So if anyone wants a 14th century beautiful, huge old townhouse, come direct, and I wont offer you a seat on a plastic chair to write the cheque. !

how often does a seller insist of having the price they want and then is annoyed when the agent doesnt do any visits.

I spite of the charges you highlight, French estate agents are having a tough time. We had four in our town until recently, with the notaires also playing at selling. We are down to one agent this year.