Professional insurance and déclaration d'insaisissabilité.. are these legitimate AE expenses

Hi all,

I have a naive question, because I am new to this self-employed lark. I set up a scientific consultancy as a micro-entreprise and have now been contacted to do some work in a legal proceeding, It is time to get serious and get some protection. Can I charge these as business expenses to my enterprise?

Thanks,

Tim

1 Like

If you are on réel, why not. You will have to find out the appropriate expenses codes. There is def a category for insurances. I imagine the declaration could come under the Fees category since it is a fee to the notaire.
If you are on the simplified setup, you do not claim any kind of actual expenses. You say AE does that stand for Auto Entrepreneur? If it does you will be in the simplified scheme with a flat rate expenses allowance. You declare your turnover and everything is based on that as I understand it.

1 Like

Thanks for the quick response. I am indeed on the simplified AE and not on the régime réel. Right then, I will pay for these from my personal bank account.

Good question, I think the answer is no but maybe someone can provide information to the contrary, I will stand happily corrected :slight_smile:

@fabien ?

I just got a reply from my accountant. According to her, I can’t deduct my expenses from ME, but I can apply for a 50% reduction of my taxable income. I am not quite sure if I follow my accountant’s description. It might be lost in translation. Does anyone know what this tax reduction is called?

An abattement forfaitaire pour les frais professionnels of 50% for services or 34% for bnc is applied to your turnover to give your taxable income. Eg if you provide a service and your turnover is 40k your taxable income is 20k. You do not have to apply for this it happens automatically.
Could that be what she meant.