Roaming costs are back!

I still have a UK mobile as well as a french one. Mainly from pure laziness as just can’t be bothered to go through fuss of changing phone numbers everywhere. And it’s only a couple of ££ a month.

Last night I received a text from vodaphone that they are bringing in unfair roaming policy which will apply to phones that spend more time roaming than they do at home (ie UK).

Texts1p, calls 3p a minute, data £3/gb.

So they are sticking to letter of promise of not introducing roaming changes…

Ah well, time to look for a second french sim I guess. Is Free still the cheapest?

or Leclerc Reglo mobile sans contract

Free 2€ p.m. is nobbut free, yes.

I have been using my iD Mobile account for 3 1/2 years now, very largely in Spain. There has always been a ‘reasonable roaming use’ clause in their contract. I assume there’s some sort of yellow card/red card system that spots if one has exceeded what they consider ‘reasonable’ roaming use but it has never been triggered on my a/c. - and that has surprised me.

I used to have 250 mins p.m. voice call allowance and usually waited till the end of the billing period to chat to a pal in UK because we always rabbit on for <60 mins. What with that and all the other calls from SP to UK - just the T’s & Cs lecture by Scot Wids when making a withdrawal lasts a good 20 mins - I’ve never been pinged by the ‘reasonable roaming’ clause.

Now I’m on ‘unlimited calls’ & 4Gb data for £7 p.m. I’m wondering if their monitoring of roaming will increase or decrease. Maybe it’s 01/01/2021 that will make all the difference

This was already the official policy for several operators, just not enforced - are you sure this isn’t the case for Voda?

1 Like

I’ve just spoken to an advisor at Vodafone and they said they have no intention of re-introducing roaming charges following Brexit???

1 Like

No, they are not introducing roaming charges following Brexit and this is not formally a roaming charge.