Tax on French Rental Property

Hello

I am a UK resident & I have a property in France which is being used for rental purposes, whilst it is being sold (a very slow process). As a property rental property it runs at a loss. Last year it was let for c4 weeks. costs were high as roof renovation work was required. Does a French tax return need to be completed to record these losses?

No - but one does need to be completed to record the net income you received
Taxed at a basic rate of 30% net income as from 2018 income.

Someone had advised me that there was a way that you could offset your costs as well, rather than just counting the income (and not the costs) and treating as if it was a profit. Can anyone advise on this option?

Take a look at the info on this link - pretty comprehensive and up-to-date.

À French tax return though?

Yes @cat the income needs to be declared in France and the UK.

As a non-resident, in order to declare your French earnings you need to contact the Service des ImpĂŽts des Particuliers Non-RĂ©sidents, TSA 10010, 10 rue du Centre, 93465 Noisy-le-Grand, Cedex.

The e mail address of the office for non-residents is: sip.nonresidents@dgfip.finances.gouv.fr. Their telephone number is (00 33) 01 72 95 20 42.

And you declare under regime réel, so you can offset the vast majority of your costs against the income. Losses can also be carried over.

If the works were improvements, rather than maintenance, make sure you have the evidence of the costs as might be able to offset this against capital gains when you finally sell.

1 Like

Thank you. The Regime Reel, must have been what was being referred to. Do you know if there is criteria for this?

Ashley - it’s all explained in the link on post #4 - here it is again:

Back in 2005 we were receiving a small income from a Rental property

I completed Declaration de Revenu Foncier
 Cerfa No.10334*10 (2044).

Listed rental income and expenses in the appropriate areas on the Form