The resurgence of EDF's Tempo tarif

This subject has a previous discussion over at Tempo for Gite? but I thought it deserves more information.

This post is not here to explain the tarif itself as that is already available from the horse’s mouth.

The reason for this post is to give more background & to relay my recent experience in applying to EDF to change from my existing HC/HP tarif to Tempo.

As an electrician I have always been aware of the Tempo tarif but it has been in the doldrums for many years it was not possible to have it when opening a new contract. That has recently changed & now anyone with a 9kVA subscription (or higher) can ask for it & if you have a Linky meter the change is free & requires no physical intervention at your property.

Having looked at the current costs (yes, I know they will go up along with all the other tarifs) I discovered that the standing charge/abonnement is slightly cheaper than HC/HP. That’s win number 1!

Win number 2 is that of the 6 different price levels for Tempo 4 of them are cheaper per kWh than the current Heures Creuses & Base tarif rates, & of the remaining 2 only the super expensive red day rate is more expensive than the current Heures Pleines (& Base tarif) rates.

Put another way…one is only exposed to a higher rate (the super costly red rate) for 22 periods of 16 hours per year. Everything else is a saving over any other “tarif réglementé”.

Anyway, I took the plunge just this morning & rang 3004 to speak to a conseiller. There was the usual long wait before getting through to a live person, part of that process being the need to enter my numéro de client via the 'phone keypad.

Once I got a real person to speak everything was very easy & straight forward. They went through the usual process of confirming the property & electrical item details that are already listed in my “espace client”.