This time last year

I’ve been looking back, rather wistfully, at some of the pictures l took this time last year and starting to get a rather itchy shutter finger - Have you got any precovid snaps?

Attachment-1 (27) IMG_0645

6 Likes

Grand pics, Dan!

Bottle-stopper factory door perspective especially grabbing.

Corrigendum: Bottle-basket-weaver etc. :upside_down_face:

1 Like

5 Likes

8 Likes

Dinner trying to get into the kitchen! How marvellous!

This time last year the amazing, spectacular, astonishing fiesta of Las Fallas in Valencia had just ended on 19th March. Cancelled this year, of course. V Sad for me, as it might be the last time I am a resident in the thick of it. My move to FR is now on hold, of course. If Boris does not extend the Implementation Period it might scupper the whole plan.

So, here’s some from last year’s Las Fallas. I have picked some with a political edge that have all played out over the past 12 months.

Trump in bad company …

The Queen has taken a saw to the UK and cut it off from Europe. The notice bottom left read, in Valenciano, “What will the hoteliers do now? Who will there be to get drunk and jump off balconies?”

Far-left leader of the Podemos party, Pablo Iglesias, has achieved a long-standing leftist ambition and is digging up Franco’s remains from the dictator’s absurd, monumental tomb at The Valley of The Fallen.

Trump in even worse company.

Ex-Queen Sophie is taking a snip at ex-King Juan Carlos. The gold medals on his chest feature two women reputed to have been his lovers. One got a very hefty bung

*From this account, a ‘gift’ payment of 65m euros was later made in 2012 to Juan Carlos’s former mistress, *Corinna zu Sayn-Wittgenstein.

On a lighter note, a tableaux concerning show-biz. The Lion King, Billy Elliot [bottom centre] but as always, a political reference - the far-right Vox Party get a mention, bottom left.

And finally, refreshments.