Vaccine war reality

I was saddened by the outbreak of war and horrendous misinformation regarding the AZ vaccine.

before I retired I was a contract manager for a major company, i wrote and negotiated contacts up to £350m, not minor league.

For such senior people to claim that ‘Best Endevours’ or Best Reasonable Endevours’ was anything but, we will do our best is frankly ludicrous. Even the Belgian Governments Lawyers said it was rather unlikely they would win the argument.

Then to claim that the AZ vaccine was paid for by the EU? Pardon, simply untrue. It was a UK sponsored vaccine. The initial contract and press release in April is clear, Not for profit (please note EU Commission) first to be supplied to the UK, for distribution and production around the world to assist the world in defeating COVID. Please go and check, it was a suprise to me from a Tory Government.

As I understand it the only money changing hands was to increase production facilities at the AZ Belgian plant. The Commission should look at its self to see why that is late. Hmmmm, is there some red tape and some inspection and assurance issues here? Oh I think so. Then the EU ordered 3 months late, oh is there another red tape issue? Then the EU takes longer to approve, no idea why, could it be red tape? The UK had authorised parallel approval, its approved as a rolling process, not wait for it to complete then look at it. Thats how my Research Scientist friend saw it. So could it be, rather a hash on the part of the EU. I think it fair to say it was. For me, the EU demanding that they pay less for the AZ vaccine that the UK when its a not for profit product left me stunned, the final straw.