What optic do you prefer during excursions?

I’m new to outdoor activities like hiking and nature walks. Could you share your expertise on selecting the right optics for these adventures and explain why they are essential?

By optics, do you mean glasses (sun, polarized, etc), binoculars/monoculars/telescopes, or camera lenses ?

I prefer the ones which dispense the drinkies myself.

9 Likes

Hello @Lindeman75 and welcome to the forum…

It would be nice if you could give us a brief introduction…
plus some info on where you’re planning these adventures… :wink:

Equipment of any sort will depend on whether one plans to do a Tarzan through the undergrowth or scampering up rocky slopes… and everything in between :wink:

cheers

I’ve found small binoculars best for when you want a better look at something interesting when out hiking or driving around.

If you want to go super compact, a monocular might work for you, but I find binoculars much easier to hold steady.

8 x 28 is my sweet spot for binoculars. Higher magnification brings narrow field of view and the shakes. Smaller objective lenses allow smaller binoculars, but you want to capture the most light possible. Bigger lenses = more weight + more bulk.

Get a waterproof, nitrogen filled pair of waterproof binoculars with the grippy and drop cushioning rubberised coating. Get a belt pouch (can always be clipped to a pack) and ditch the cheap OEM strap for a softer neoprene quick detach one. More comfortable and very handy when you get them hooked up on a branch/child/pet.

Get a pair for your hiking partner or have them buy their own as you don’t want to spend five minutes re-adjusting your pair back to how they were set perfectly every damn time someone else wants to look through them.

For sunglasses, for me it’s polarised lenses forever.Everything else is just ‘shades’. I started using them decades ago for fishing. I now have two pairs to my scrip.